SGMP Announces Distinguished 2018 Award Winners
  • July 6, 2018
  • ALEXANDRIA, VAThe Society of Government Meeting Professionals (SGMP), the premier national organization for the government meetings industry, announced Michelle Milligan, MSW, LMSW, CGMP, as the Sam Gilmer Planner of the Year and Mark Richardson, CGMP, as the Sam Gilmer Supplier of the Year at its 2018 National Education Conference (NEC). Recognized as the government meeting planning industry’s highest distinction, the Sam Gilmer Award celebrates excellence in government meeting planning and the advancement of education and professionalism across the industry.

    Milligan has been SGMP’s National President since July 2016 and works at the Third Judicial Circuit of Michigan, Clinic for Child Study.

    Richardson is Sales Manager with DoubleTree by Hilton Colorado Springs. He has spent countless hours volunteering to help military-related causes, an important group of the government sector. He served on SGMP’s Nominations & Election Committee and serves as a Gilmer Institute of Learning trustee responsible for fundraising for scholarships.

    Andrew Silver, CGMP, received the 2018 President’s Award, serving as inspiration and support to Milligan, who attributes Silver for introducing her to SGMP and her growing leadership in the Society. Silver has served in many national and chapter board leadership roles, most recently as a Gilmer Institute of Learning trustee. He also steps in quickly for special projects, such as creation of NEC brochures, sponsor videos and award logos.

    SGMP’s National Board of Directors selected the Eastern Research Group (ERG) for the 2018 Partnership Award for going above and beyond with their outstanding service coordination of SGMP’s National Education Conference for the last two years. ERG, based in Lexington, MA, has proudly supported government conferences since 1984. Lauren Lariviere, ERG Vice President and SGMP’s contract meeting planner; Laura Harwood, ERG Vice President; and Erin Pittorino, Senior Conference Planner, accepted the award on behalf of ERG.